MEET YOUR PROFESSOR – Bill Jasso

Bill Jasso is a professor of practice in the the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications public relations department.  A 2001 Communication Management graduate of Newhouse, he spent the last 18 years as the Vice President of Communications at Time Warner Cable.  Before that, he assisted the Mayor of Akron and was the Director of Communications for the National Golf Foundation.

Q: What is your favorite course to teach in Newhouse?

A: Public Relations Management.

Q: Do you have any particular interest(s) within public relations?

A: I have an interest in public relations management, crisis communications and writing.

Q: What is your favorite part of working in public relations?http://linkd.in/Xc064y

A: I never get bored because it’s always something new every day.

Q: What motivates you?

A: I love knowing what I say provides value to students.  It’s nice to leave work every day knowing I changed someone’s life for the better.

Q: Did you always want to work in public relations and/or communications?

A: No.  I wanted to be an astronaut.  I used to send letters to NASA and ask them for pictures of astronauts and rockets.  John Glenn was my hero, and when I was ten years old, I chased him ten blocks for his autograph.  One of the highlights of my life is when I worked in the mayor’s office and got to work quite a bit with Senator Glenn.

Q: What has been your proudest moment in your communications career?

A: My proudest moment has yet to come.  I’m not done yet.  However, a moment that comes close is my interview with John Lennon.  Everyone told me it wasn’t worth it to fly to New York City to do the interview.  A mentor of mine told me that if I didn’t find some way to pay for it myself, I would regret it for the rest of my life.  He was right.  I came back with an interview that became the cover story in Time magazine.

Q: Do you have any fun fact(s) about yourself?

A: I am in a never-ending pursuit to become a good guitar player.

Q: What is/are your favorite quote(s)?

A: I always say, “If you do something great and you didn’t promote it, it never happened.”  Also, “learn to pick your fights.”

Q: What qualities do you think make a student successful?

A: Passion.  You have to want it.

Q: What qualities do you think make a person successful?

A: Passion.  You have to want it.

Q: Do you have a personal message for Newhouse students?

A: This career, public relations, and this experience, being at Newhouse, are too much fun to pass up every opportunity you can get.  Have fun.  This is a fun business to be in.

