MEET YOUR PROFESSOR – Bob Kucharavy

Bob Kucharavy is a professor of practice in the public relations department in the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications.  He received a Bachelor’s degree in sociology with a minor in philosophy and business and a sub minor in theology from LeMoyne College.  He also did graduate work in philosophy at Clark University.  Kucharavy is in his twelfth year at Newhouse, and he has more than 30 years experience in corporate, agency, not-for-profit and educational public relations.  He is the director of the Newhouse Public Relations Creativity Center and the advisor for the W.P. Ehling Chapter of PRSSA, Hill Communications and Alpha Epsilon Phi.

Q: What is your favorite course you teach in Newhouse?

A: I enjoy teaching Campaigns because every semester is a new adventure.  You can’t predict what is going to happen because the clients vary.

Q: Do you have any particular interest(s) within public relations?ProfK

A: I really like corporate communications.

Q: What is your favorite part of working in public relations?

A: The pace of it and being able to bring about positive change.

Q: What motivates you?

A: I like challenges, and I am constantly looking for things that are new.

Q: Did you always want to work in public relations and/or communications?

A: No.  I didn’t even know what public relations was when I graduated college.

Q: How did you know you wanted to work in public relations and/or communications?

A: When I graduated from college I had a degree in sociology.  I was looking for a job in the paper and applied for a six-week research assignment at a public relations agency.  I was hired to do the research project, which turned out to be for MasterCard.  I got the position around the time MasterCard was first founded.  They asked me if I would like to be a research assistant, and the president of the agency took me in as a mentee.  I literally fell into public relations and learned it from my mentor.

Q: What has been your proudest moment in your communications career?

A: There have been so many high points.

Q: Do you have any fun fact(s) about yourself?

A: I love to cook, and I have a beach house on Nantucket.

Q: What qualities do you think make a student successful?

A: They have to be inquisitive, know what is going on in the news, have good writing skills, and be good presenters.  Students need to be adaptable because the field is changing so fast.  You can’t afford to be stagnant in the whole thing.

Q: What qualities do you think make a person successful?

A: Honesty, ethics and common sense.

Q: Do you have a personal message for Newhouse students?

A: Take full advantage of your time here and enjoy college.  When you get out in the real world, you won’t be able to do things you’ve had the chance to do here.

  

