MEET YOUR PROFESSOR – Caroline Reff

@CKRInkwell

@CKRInkwell

Caroline Reff is an adjunct professor of public relations in the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications.  She received her Bachelor’s in English and Communications from Boston College.  Reff was assistant director of community relations at St. Joseph’s hospital in Syracuse from 1989 to 1993, and in 1994 she founded Inkwell Creative Services, which focuses on marketing and public relations services.

Q: What is your favorite course you teach in Newhouse?

A: PRL 215, Advanced Public Relations Writing for a Digital World.

Q: Do you have any particular interest(s) within public relations?Caroline Reff

A: I really like writing.

Q: What is your favorite part of working in public relations?

A: The work is always different, and there are so many opportunities for creative projects.

Q: What motivates you?

A: I like my career combination of teaching and freelancing, because no two days are ever the same.  That keeps things interesting.

Q: Did you always want to work in public relations and/or communications?

A: I always wanted to be a writer.  Public relations was a field that interested me and allowed me to write, as well.

Q: How did you know public relations was for you?

A: I wrote a book review for my college newspaper, Boston College’s The Heights, and, from then on, I was hooked.  A career in public relations eventually followed.

Q: What has been your proudest moment in your communications career

A: Starting my own freelance writing business, Inkwell Creative Services, in 1994.  It was a way to have a rewarding career and also be available to my young children.

Q: Do you have any fun fact(s) about yourself?

A: I’m a night owl.  If you email me at 1 a.m., I will probably respond.

Q: What is/are your favorite quote(s)?

A: “Easy reading is damn hard writing.” –Nathaniel Hawthorne

Q: What qualities do you think make a student successful?

A: Students are most successful when they ask questions, test their own limits, and embrace a willingness to learn from others.

Q: What qualities do you think make a person successful?

A: A desire to keep learning, confidence in one’s abilities, determination, a balance between work and life, and support of family.

Q: Do you have a personal message for Newhouse students?

A: Writing is a skill and a talent.  It is like practicing the piano or excelling in a sport.  It has to be practice, practice, practice.

