MEET YOUR PROFESSOR – Philip A. Nardone, Jr.

@PAN_ACK

@PAN_ACK

Philip A. Nardone, Jr. is an adjunct professor of public relations in the Newhouse School, where he received his bachelor’s in public relations.  After graduating from Newhouse, he started his career in a public relations agency in Boston.  After eight years, he became the youngest general manager and president in the Hill and Knowlton network.  Nardone knew he wanted to run his own agency after working as vice president of public relations at Neiman Marcus.  He opened his own firm, PAN Communications, in 1995.  PAN is an agency with passion, integrity and commitment.  Nardone’s cross-industry experience and passion for public relations have infused the agency with a creative, results-oriented DNA.  PAN Communications is an award-winning, independent public relations agency that delivers high-impact programs to increase visibility and market share for its clients.

Q: What is your favorite course you teach in Newhouse?

A: In the past 3-4 years, I’ve started teaching the capstone public relations management class (PRL 497).   I like it because it applies public relations practices and principles to current events going on in the business world.

Q: Do you have any particular interest(s) within public relations?Phil_SU_Headshot-1

A: My passion is agency public relations.  I think it provides an environment to keep individuals motivated throughout their career.  It is challenging, and yet it provides a good work-life balance.  My team works hard and plays hard.  Plus, every day is different and you are constantly being challenged.

Q: What is your favorite part of working in public relations?

A: The managing of people and seeing career developments blossom.  My satff is like a family!  Many of the people we have working with PAN Communications are Newhouse graduates.  And, I’m proud every spring to keep adding to that roster with summer interns that become full-time employees by Labor Day.

Q: What motivates you?

A: PAN Communications.  Running my own agency motivates me a great deal.  I believe in PAN and the individuals we have working here.  I believe what we do is exemplary work for our clients.  We were one of the first firms to offer social media to its clients.  I’m motivated by redirecting the firm in new areas.  It is expanding and moving to a more integrated approach.  Today, I am working to move PAN toward a more integrated, full-service offering.

Q: Did you always want to work in public relations and/or communications?

A: Yes.  I transferred to Newhouse from Villanova.  I heard a Newhouse graduate speak at Villanova, and I talked to him afterwards.  He and the field captivated my interest.  I’m one of those rare breads that the day I stepped on campus, specifically in Newhouse, I knew I wanted to be a PR major, and in this dynamic field.

Q: What has been your proudest moment in your communications career?

A: Seeing PAN turn the corner from a small boutique firm to a mid-sized agency being ranked and capable of winning and retaining national accounts.   The evolution of the agency turns me on.

Q: Do you have any fun fact(s) about yourself?

A: My youngest son, Christopher, is a senior in Newhouse with a major in public relations.  One of my proudest moments was when he was admitted into Newhouse and told me he was passionate about following in my footsteps and pursuing a career in PR.

Q: What is/are your favorite quote(s)?

A: I end emails with a little salutation depending on the tone of my email.  It could be something I picked up from a book I read.  For example, I often use Howard Schultz’s title “Onward…” at the end of an email on a business challenge.  Or I’ll end with a simple “Peace.”, “Cheers.”, “Believe in yourself.” to a staffer that may need some encouragement.

Q: What qualities do you think make a student successful?

A: I would say originality and creativity in the product.  Students that take their major seriously and look for ways to make a mark on their work.  Being proud of who you are as a student and what you’ve accomplished in college starts your career off on the right path.

Q: What qualities do you think make a person successful?

A: Honesty, passion, commitment, and being the best can really set you apart.  Having a goal, reaching for it, and not being afraid to try new things.

Q: Do you have a personal message for Newhouse students?

A: I believe you can reach your goals once you set them and develop a course of action to attain them.  I believe you should be happy in what you do and don’t stop until you find that happiness and fulfillment in both your career and personal life.  And always be true to yourself.  Be who you are, and be proud of that.

