Meet Newhouse Alumna, Amanda Lieberman

@arlieber

@arlieber

Amanda Lieberman did a 180 when she went from “the castle” (Crouse) to Newhouse.  After earning a music degree from the College of Visual and Performing Arts, Lieberman got her Master’s in public relations from Newhouse in 2010.  She said that in so many ways, music is like a second communications degree.  Musicians are tasked with translating notes from the page.  They have to know what the composer wants, and they must make that come alive.  What story do that want to tell?  What emotions are they trying to convey?  It is like understanding what the client wants.  There is so much collaboration and communication that goes on, and on stage there is a lot of non-verbal communication, as well.  Lieberman did not want to be in the practice room for the rest of her life.  An account executive at Simon Public Relations Group, she said Newhouse opened her eyes to all the different avenues she could take by going into public relations.

Q: Why did you choose Newhouse?Lieberman

A: I earned my bachelor’s degree in music from the SU’s College of Visual and Performing Arts. After a summer internship with the producers of a jazz festival in Philadelphia my junior year, I knew I wanted to take the foundation of communication skills I’d built through years as a performer to the next level – outside of the practice room — with a master’s degree in PR.

To receive an excellent musical education in a building as gorgeous as Crouse – then walk across the street to one of the top communications schools in the country with the best faculty and facilities? What an amazing opportunity, and it’s the reason I’ll bleed orange forever.

Q: How did Newhouse help to get you where you are now?

A: The education you receive at Newhouse is of the highest level. The faculty is the best, the curriculum moves with the trends of the industry, and the program is catered to help you develop your interests while keeping an open mind to the many paths of the communications field. I started my journey at Newhouse focused on non-profit and fine arts PR. I did an internship with the American Cancer Society and at my agency, lead our major hospice account. Newhouse helped me explore and develop my passion for the healthcare sector and agency PR.

I’ve also developed so many connections through Newhouse, including securing my internship after graduation and now job. Newhouse graduates and students are always excited to connect. I’ve encouraged potential students to make the choice to come to Newhouse and connected with Newhouse graduates who are potential interns at my agency. It’s a network I’m so proud to be a part of.

Q: What is your favorite part of working at Simon Public Relations Group?

A: I’ve had the privilege of working with amazing clients who are committed to their missions and also to making a difference, whether it’s by serving patients or strengthening neighborhoods. Their passion and commitment to their goals motivates me every day. At my agency, I’ve also supported different types of accounts from healthcare and retail to pharmaceuticals, non-profits and major special events. Amazing clients, inspiring missions, great people and exciting challenges – that’s what I enjoy the most.

Q: What is your favorite Newhouse memory?

A: I had great time with my classes – and it seems strange to go all the way back to the bootcamp before the fall semester, but I really appreciated how the faculty took the time to develop creative scenarios for us to write about on-deadline during the journalism class. They went all-out in a big way. Coming from music school as opposed to some of the other more “traditional” degree programs, I wanted to totally dive in to the whole experience, and the bootcamp was a challenging but fun experience that helped me build skills I would use throughout the entire degree program.

Q: Do you have any advice for Newhouse students?

A: Take full advantage of the opportunities and resources that Newhouse has to offer – as a school, by taking on internships, reaching out to faculty and alumni. Everyone is supportive and happy to help. Keep an open mind, and you may discover new areas of interest within the field, especially when beginning your career. Also, in addition to reaching out to alumni with questions about how they got to where they are in their field, it’s never too early to start being a resource to your peers and prospective students and asking how you can help them as well.

