Meet Newhouse Alumna Taylor Visoski

@taylorvisoski

When Taylor Visoski was a senior in high school she knew she wanted to be at Newhouse.  It’s where she had to go.  Visoski made it happen and said she was given the most amazing experience in the most prestigious and rigorous learning environment.  A 2013 Newhouse graduate, Visoski said she is forever grateful for everyone at Syracuse, including her professors, colleagues and friends.  She is now having the time of her life working at Discovery Communications, not to mention she met Honey Boo Boo and the Thompson family!

Q: How does it feel to be a recent graduate of Newhouse?

TaylorA: It’s been really great so far.  It’s hard to believe I have been with Discovery for almost a month now.  There are a few current Newhouse students interning here, and it’s really cool that the Newhouse networking lives on after graduation.  Syracuse is very prominent at Discovery.

Q: What is your favorite part about being a communications coordinator at Discovery Communications?

A: I get to work on a lot of different projects across all Discovery networks.  I spend a lot of time working with viewer feedback and the comments they get when they have premiering shows.  We work very closely with each network’s communications team.  We all work very closely together to keep consistent messages across all networks.  I also get to work with the Discovery Education publicity team.  That is a branch that creates digital learning content for students across America and around the world.  The Discovery Educator Network is great, as well.  That’s where educators are recognized for going above and beyond to enhance learning for their students through digital and technological resources.  I also get to work with the publicity teams for Investigation Discovery, Destination America and the Military Channel.  Working at Discovery gives me the opportunity to pitch, and that’s something I love doing very much.  You also get to network and make connections here.  It’s so great to see all the teams across Discovery looking to collaborate and support one another.  I’m not only working with some of the most talented individuals in the industry, but I’m learning from them, as well.

Q: How did Newhouse prepare you for life after college?

A: Newhouse prepared me so much and in countless ways.  The intensive writing courses prepared me for drafting pitches and releases on a tight deadline.  My English minor definitely helped a lot too.  Newhouse also gave me wonderful networking opportunities and the resources to do so.  It doesn’t stop at getting jobs and internships.  Networking continues throughout the rest of your career.

Q: What is your favorite Newhouse memory?

A: There are so many memories.  Every Newhouse class I ever took!  I owe so much to the variety of classes you are able to take there.  I took a management course, and it offered such great insight to succeeding in the corporate world and taught me how to work effectively on teams. I loved our COM Law class, as well.  It’s so great to see everything I learned in my Newhouse classes come back as life experiences.  I’m grateful to have had the opportunity to go to classes and work with the best and brightest.  And of course PRSSA and Hill Communications were amazing experiences for me.

Q: Do you have any advice for Newhouse students?

A: I’ve learned so much over the past four years.  It is so important to not be afraid to network.  Sometimes it takes a bit of courage to go to a speaker at an event or ask a question.  Never be afraid to apply for the job you may not be qualified for.  If it’s something you want to do, show them you have passion.  Don’t be afraid to take that extra step.  In addition, show what you are capable of contributing to the company you are in or want to be a part of.  That will get you so far and get you noticed.  My first summer as an intern at Discovery some high level executives told me not to be afraid to meet, network and learn from as many people as possible.  Always continue to learn in the industry you want to be a part of.

