Meet Newhouse Alumnus Kevin Belbey

@KevinBelbey

@KevinBelbey

You may know him as a Syracuse Men’s Basketball Manager, or perhaps you recognize him as Homecoming King for the Class of 2013. Kevin Belbey took advantage of every opportunity Syracuse and Newhouse has to offer. He worked at Citrus TV, had a morning show on Z89, as well as acting as their legal director, and interned with NBC Sports for the Olympics last year in New York City. An active member of PRSSA, a Newhouse Peer Advisor and Newhouse Ambassador, Belbey had a blast helping cultivate the next group of Newhouse leaders. He is now going back to Syracuse for law school and plans to continue his involvement with the Syracuse basketball team. Needless to say, Belbey is “young n gettin it.”

Kevin BelbeyQ: What exactly is Young N Gettin It?

A: I started my own blog this year, one reason being because of Matt Prince. He inspired me when he came to speak at Newhouse for PRSSA. I’m a person who believes being busy is a good problem to have. I wanted to do something productive this summer. I travel all over and interview young, successful people. I love being able to see what they’re doing and how they got there, and I wanted to share that with others. Young N Gettin It is a source of motivation for people.

Q: How does it feel to be a recent graduate of Newhouse?

A: It’s scary, exciting, overwhelming, and an honor.  It’s also hard to believe. I had wanted to attend Newhouse since the eighth grade. I originally wanted to be a sports broadcaster and knew Newhouse was the only place for me. Once I got there, I learned a lot more about so many different fields and career paths. I became a lot more open-minded and wanted to do a million different things. To graduate was surreal because it was something I had wanted for so long.

Q: How have Newhouse and your experience with PRSSA prepared you for life after college?

A: The biggest thing about Newhouse and PRSSA is that it’s not just teaching from a textbook. It’s real-world experience you’re getting at such a young age. When you graduate Newhouse, you’re ahead. After my sophomore year, I interned with ABC in NYC. The training I received in my Newhouse classes and extracurriculars like PRSSA gave me such an advantage over the other interns. ABC was so impressed with what I knew and how quickly I was able to jump in and help. I was the first intern they ever had who was covering shifts for full-time employees. All credit goes to Newhouse and the extracurricular activities that give you hands-on experience while you’re still a student.

Q: What is your favorite Newhouse memory?

A: That’s a hard one. My favorite memory is my experience on the BDJ track, learning small bits and pieces of the puzzle and by senior year doing full, 30-minute news broadcasts that go on as if they’re live. I had a very tight-knit class, and every week we rotated positions which was cool because we got to see all the Newhouse training come together into one product. It was very special to have some of my best friends on that team. We were always trying to be better than local news stations, and I think we definitely would have put up a fight.  The same goes for public relations in Newhouse. Students have the opportunity to work on real campaigns. I was fortunate enough to have taken some public relations classes like PRL 206 with the lovely Professor Maria Russell. She was a great role model and taught me a lot about PR.

Another favorite memory of mine is walking across that stage and thinking about everything that went into making it to that point. My four years went so fast, but so much was put into it. After so many hours of work in and out of class, and all the blood, sweat and tears, being able to say I fulfilled my dream, attending and graduating from Newhouse, is surreal.

Listening to and meeting all the phenomenal speakers Newhouse and student organizations like PRSSA bring to campus is a great memory, as well. There is no better way to learn than to go to these and learn from people who have done it and are doing it. I am very fortunate to have kept in touch with Matt Prince, who came to Newhouse last year.

Q: Do you have any advice for Newhouse students?

A: Immerse yourself in as much as you possibly can. Even though I was a BDJ student, I exposed myself to different things and got to see that I have so many interests in so many different areas. People have asked me before, “Why are you in PRSSA if you are a BDJ student?” I ask, “Why aren’t you?” The more experience you have under your belt, the better you will be. Denzel Washington still goes to acting classes. He says if he learns one thing, it’s worth it. That was my mentality while at Newhouse. Learn as much as possible, join clubs, get involved and get the most out of your education. If you’re not, you are wasting your time.

