Meet Newhouse Alumna Marki Conway

@BostonMarki

@BostonMarki

During her time as a public relations graduate student in Newhouse, Marki Conway ’10 was a Public Relations and Web Assistant in Whitman, Research Assistant in Newhouse, and a Technology Intern and Associate at PAN Communications. She ultimately worked her way up to Senior Associate at PAN, and has experience working with clients in various technology industries including mobile technology, CRM, marketing technology, Big Data, cloud computing, supply chain tech and B2B commerce. Conway is passionate about topics related to mobile technology and social/digital media. Her specialities include, but are certainly not limited to media relations, social media, writing, fundraising and event planning.

Q: Why did you choose Newhouse?

MarkiA: My advisor at Merrimack College attended Newhouse, always raved about the school and talked about the Master’s program there. I was looking into top public relations schools, so naturally Newhouse was at the top of my list.

Q: How did Newhouse help to get you where you are now?

A: From a strategic public relations perspective, I’m putting a lot of what I learned into practice. For example, I put PR plans together for clients, and I did those in Newhouse, as well. The CEO of my company, Phil Nardone, is an adjunct professor in Newhouse.  I was familiar with PAN Communications for a long time and had the opportunity to have Nardone as a professor. I interned with PAN Communications, and that internship turned into a full-time position.

Q: What is your favorite part about being a Senior Associate at PAN Communications?

A: The level I’m at right now allows me to have the best of both worlds. I get to help the management team with strategy, come up with creative plans that turn into great results, and I am a part of the implementation. My absolute favorite part about public relations is media relations. I love connecting with reporters, building relationships, and coming up with creative ways to get clients top-level coverage.

Q: What is your favorite Newhouse memory?

A: Newhouse graduate school bootcamp. Regardless of our majors, we all had to do that together. The school gets the whole city of Syracuse in on a huge stunt. It really shows how dedicated Newhouse is to the graduate program.

Q: Do you have any advice for Newhouse Students?

A: Get the most out of your time at Newhouse. It’s so easy to look at an assignment and say, “I just need to get it done.”  Newhouse assignments are great practice for the real world.  Look at it as something that will help you in your career. You will get a lot more out of your education that way.

